MAG FEATURE: IDRIS ELBA GETS SMOOTH FOR UK ‘GQ’

Idris Elba gets sharp for his feature in the June 2012 issue of Britain’s ‘GQ’ magazine. Inside, the ‘Prometheus’ star talks about playing Nelson Mandela in the ‘Long Walk to Freedom’ biopic, his preference in television versus film and the rumors of him possibly playing James Bond in an upcoming movie:

ON PLAYING NELSON MANDELA:
“That is a lot of responsibility. It’s like being asked to play Jesus.”

ON RUMORS OF A JAMES BOND ROLE:
“Bond? It’s a bit like saying, ‘Do you want to play Superman?’ Anyone would dream of it. It’s one of the most coveted roles in film. I’d be honored. But I don’t know if it will actually happen. I’m just happy with the idea of being associated with it. It’s nice there’s a lot of good will.”

ON WORKING IN FILM VS. TELEVISION:
“You know, film is the ultimate goal in an actor’s career. I mean, I still love TV. I have my feet firmly stamped in it. But my opportunities have been bigger and better. [The last two years] feel like a reinvention of my career, because I’m not a household name, by any stretch of the imagination. In some countries, no one knows who Idris Elba is.” [SOURCE]

Check out Idris in the upcoming movie ‘Prometheus’ which hits movie theaters on Friday, June 1st (VIEW TRAILER). More pictures from his GQ spread after the jump!

Leave a Reply

